Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

All the Fighting Parts

ebook

In the vein of Grown and The Poet X, Hannah V. Sawyerrâs All the Fighting Parts is a searing and defiant young adult novel in verse about reclaiming agency after a sexual assault within the church community.
 
Sixteen-year-old Amina Conteh has always believed in using her voice as her weaponâeven when it gets her into trouble. After cursing at a classmate, her father forces her to volunteer at their church with Pastor Johnson.
 
But Pastor Johnson isnât the holy man everyone thinks he is.
 
The same voice Amina uses to fight falls quiet the night she is sexually assaulted by Pastor Johnson. After that, her life starts to unravel: her father is frustrated that her grades are slipping, and her best friend and boyfriend donât understand why the once loud and proud girl is now quiet and distant. In a world that claims to support survivors, Amina wonders who will support her when her attacker is everyoneâs favorite community leader.
 
When Pastor Johnson is arrested for a different crime, the community is shaken and divided; some call him a monster and others defend him. But Amina is secretly relieved. She no longer has to speak because Pastor Johnson canât hurt her anymoreâor so she believes.
 
To regain her voice and sense of self, Amina must find the power to confront her abuserâin the courtroom and her heartâand learn to use all the fighting parts within her.


Expand title description text
Publisher: ABRAMS
Awards:

Kindle Book

  • Release date: September 19, 2023

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781647007249
  • Release date: September 19, 2023

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781647007249
  • File size: 2479 KB
  • Release date: September 19, 2023

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

In the vein of Grown and The Poet X, Hannah V. Sawyerrâs All the Fighting Parts is a searing and defiant young adult novel in verse about reclaiming agency after a sexual assault within the church community.
 
Sixteen-year-old Amina Conteh has always believed in using her voice as her weaponâeven when it gets her into trouble. After cursing at a classmate, her father forces her to volunteer at their church with Pastor Johnson.
 
But Pastor Johnson isnât the holy man everyone thinks he is.
 
The same voice Amina uses to fight falls quiet the night she is sexually assaulted by Pastor Johnson. After that, her life starts to unravel: her father is frustrated that her grades are slipping, and her best friend and boyfriend donât understand why the once loud and proud girl is now quiet and distant. In a world that claims to support survivors, Amina wonders who will support her when her attacker is everyoneâs favorite community leader.
 
When Pastor Johnson is arrested for a different crime, the community is shaken and divided; some call him a monster and others defend him. But Amina is secretly relieved. She no longer has to speak because Pastor Johnson canât hurt her anymoreâor so she believes.
 
To regain her voice and sense of self, Amina must find the power to confront her abuserâin the courtroom and her heartâand learn to use all the fighting parts within her.


Expand title description text