Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Beneath Cruel Waters

ebook

A wrenching psychological thriller in the vein of Tana French's In the Woods, Jon Bassoff's Beneath Cruel Waters reminds us that the sins of the mothers are the sins of the sons.

Holt Davidson, a Kansas firefighter, hasn't been back to his hometown of Thompsonville, Colorado, for more than two decades, but when he learns that his estranged mother has taken her own life, he returns for the funeral, hoping to make peace with her memory. He spends the night at his childhood home, rummaging through each room, exploring the past. But instead of nostalgic souvenirs, he discovers a gun, a love letter, and a Polaroid photograph of a man lying in his own blood.

Who is the dead man? Was his mother the one who killed him, and, if so, why? Who sent the love letter? And what role did his sister, institutionalized since she was a teenager, play in this act of violence? As his own traumatic memories begin to resurface, Holt begins an investigation into his mother's and sister's pasts—as well as his own.


Expand title description text
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing

Kindle Book

  • Release date: May 10, 2022

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781799938897
  • Release date: May 10, 2022

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781799938897
  • File size: 2160 KB
  • Release date: May 10, 2022

Open EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781799938897
  • File size: 2219 KB
  • Release date: May 10, 2022

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook
Open EPUB ebook

subjects

Fiction Thriller

Languages

English

A wrenching psychological thriller in the vein of Tana French's In the Woods, Jon Bassoff's Beneath Cruel Waters reminds us that the sins of the mothers are the sins of the sons.

Holt Davidson, a Kansas firefighter, hasn't been back to his hometown of Thompsonville, Colorado, for more than two decades, but when he learns that his estranged mother has taken her own life, he returns for the funeral, hoping to make peace with her memory. He spends the night at his childhood home, rummaging through each room, exploring the past. But instead of nostalgic souvenirs, he discovers a gun, a love letter, and a Polaroid photograph of a man lying in his own blood.

Who is the dead man? Was his mother the one who killed him, and, if so, why? Who sent the love letter? And what role did his sister, institutionalized since she was a teenager, play in this act of violence? As his own traumatic memories begin to resurface, Holt begins an investigation into his mother's and sister's pasts—as well as his own.


Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    Blackstone Publishing

    Kindle Book
    Release date: May 10, 2022

    OverDrive Read
    ISBN: 9781799938897
    Release date: May 10, 2022

    EPUB ebook
    ISBN: 9781799938897
    File size: 2160 KB
    Release date: May 10, 2022

    Open EPUB ebook
    ISBN: 9781799938897
    File size: 2219 KB
    Release date: May 10, 2022

  • Creators
  • Formats
    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB ebook
    Open EPUB ebook
  • Languages
    English
  • Reviews
    Loading
    Loading